Gay Dalton and other Forgotten Horses of Hollywood Park

11 thoughts on “Gay Dalton and other Forgotten Horses of Hollywood Park”

  1. Thank you Rosana. For well over a year now you have devoted a part of your life to painstaking research, pouring over mountains of articles buried within dusty pages and film so old and long forgotten. With a compassionate heart for our equine friends lost forever, you have done yourself (and the racing industry) proud. We can only hope that a plaque to memorize these ghostly champions of the track will one day be included as a reminder of what once was …. Well done my friend, well done!

    1. Karen is right; well done Rosana. You did Gay Dalton and the others proud. I hope that the developer will allow a plaque to be placed somewhere on the grounds of Hollypark. Maybe a plaque near the Swaps statue; that would be a fitting memorial to Manyunk who raced against Noor and so many others of his time. And of course we cannot forget Brownie, Manyunk’s faithful stable companion.

  2. Enjoyed the article especially since I knew some of the horses and people involved. I wrote the book, ‘Hollywood Park, from Seabiscuit to Pincay’ (incidentally the name is Biff not Bill). Sorry I didn’t include Gay Dalton, since I worked for Buster Millerick one summer when I was in college and Ralph Neves (the fearless one) was one of my favorite jockeys. Just sent another book off to the publish entitled, ‘Killing Phar Lap, An untold part of the story.’ Hope his memory, like those heroes buried at Hollywood Park, never dies.

    1. Mr. Lowry:

      First of all I would like to offer my apologies for the typo. It has now been corrected accordingly.

      I am very pleased that you enjoyed the article and wish you the best with your new book (cannot wait to see it).

      These “invaders” from the past like Phar Lap, Gay Dalton and others captured the attention of the American media and added a dose of mystique to the racing game. This has waned nowadays due to the advances transportation and movement of horses among continents. Now it is more common to see horses coming to the United States from almost all corners of the world (which is good) but the excitement behind falls short to what it used to be back then.

      Wishing you the best,
      Rosana

  3. Karen, Charlotte and Marco:

    My sincere thanks for your words.

    It took a great effort to obtain all the information and to piece it together into an article . This was done in a relatively short period of time. It all started with my sole pilgrimage to Hollywood Park (May of last year) and the interest I developed about the history of this lovely track. However, I did not find out about Gay Dalton and the other horses being buried there until about a couple of months ago. At that point I started digging into books, magazines and the internet about these forgotten thoroughbreds. Although I quite enjoyed the research part, this time it was a different experience. The “stories” behind all of these horses, their owners and their faithful admirers (both human and canine) took me into a journey into another place and time, when thoroughbred racing was the King of sports.
    I will continue in my efforts to have a memorial placed for these horses. Like you mentioned in an earlier communication: “A Society is measure by what it preserves”.

    Marco: ¡Muchísimas Gracias!
    In the words of Sir Winston Churchill: “There is something about the outside of a horse that is good for the inside of a man.”

    Kind regards to all,
    Rosana

  4. Thank you for your beautiful article commemorating these wonderful horses. I am the granddaughter of Gaylord Burt and so the legend of Gay Dalton is near and dear to my heart although I was not even born at the time he was racing. It brought more than a tear to my eye to think of his final resting place being disturbed and forgotten.

    1. Susan:

      I am truly happy that you enjoyed the article.

      It is a honor to hear from one of the descendants of one of the main protagonists of Gay Dalton’s story.

      I am also still hopeful that the developer of Hollywood Park would make an effort to memorialize these horses.

      Wishing you the best,
      Rosana

  5. Any word on whether these hard knockers will be exhumed as well? Has there been any mention of it anywhere? I really hope something is done, as developers tend to pave over the past and then it’s lost to the ages. The thought of these horses and Brownie being forgotten or defiled by a bulldozer brings tears to my eyes.

Leave a Reply

