Sharp Secretary: from $1,100 to $110,000 at Keeneland

4 thoughts on “Sharp Secretary: from $1,100 to $110,000 at Keeneland”

  1. Yes, it does mean she is headed to Australia, though almost certain not to race again – though by the look of the charts she should have won her last six starts! I thought, on type, she was in the top half dozen of all maidens through the first five days at Keeneland. There is so much bad conformation she was a bit of a standout – just a fraction long in the pasterns. Given her relatively lean ‘page’ my initial reaction was I may have paid too much, but the next day I felt really good about it, and that’s the test! Horses aren’t responsible for the prices people pay for them – I think John Henry was $1,100 in his day, too. Sharp Secretary was a very genuine racemare and my client is delighted to have her. When I was reading up the pedigree of Wise Dan, surely the number one horse in the USA today, I noted he was by a G3 winning son of Hennessy and was 5f x 3f to Secretariat.

    Guess who is by a G3 winning son of Hennessy and is 5f x 3f to Secretariat … !!!

    Thanks for your kind words Valerie. Hope you followed Ortensia! I also did well buying the future dam of Atlantic Jewel and Commanding Jewel – her first two foals G1 winners, then she goes and dies on us !

    Steve Brem

Leave a Reply

