WinStar’s sire-making abilities continue with Bluegrass Cat

3 thoughts on “WinStar’s sire-making abilities continue with Bluegrass Cat”

  1. Bluegrass Cat is by Storm Cat and he was a precocious 2 year old, so I would say that I’m not surprised that he has so many winners to date. He’s done a lot better than I thought he would.

    Bernardini is by AP Indy and didn’t even start until his 3 year old year, so I don’t think you can really compare the two.

  2. Thanks for the comment, Betsy. Yes, I think he’s done better than I thought he would, too, to this point. Yes, he did win 3 of 4 starts at 2, but I’d say he was a staying 2-year-old instead of a “precocious” 2-year-old. At any rate, my comparison with Bernardini has more to do with his staying abilities at 3: both handled a mile and a quarter quite well, and those types of horses sometimes are not as “precocious” sires of 2-year-olds as early maturing 2-year-old stakes winners and sprinters.
    So, hopefully both will be even better at 3, which is when both Bluegrass Cat and Bernardini became G1 winners.

Leave a Reply

