Twitter discussion with Joe Morris over lunch in Manhattan

14 thoughts on “Twitter discussion with Joe Morris over lunch in Manhattan”

  1. There is some unintentional humor in Ms. Wandaryan’s comparison of Twitter to the Algonquin Round Table.

    Personally I wouldn’t be so harsh to equate this medium with one of the most pompous and self-obsessed institutions in human history, summed up by former member Dorothy Parker like this: “These were no giants (…) just a lot of people telling jokes and telling each other how good they were. Just a bunch of loudmouths showing off. (…) There was no truth in anything they said. It was the terrible day of the wisecrack, so there didn’t have to be any truth “ (quoted from Wikipedia)

    And I thought I was not much of a fan of Twitter😉

  2. Malcer,

    To be “pompous” and “self-obsessed” is somewhat required for Twitter, haha, but don’t forget the quality of work put out by Ms. Parker and Edna Ferber and others of the ART. It was glitterati litterati, and no doubt, as Ani says, they’d have been at home on Twitter. And, it’s really a matter of picking your poison, as she says. Do you toot, tweet, or twink, or are you sober? is the question these days.

  3. This post is making me hungry. You failed to mention if this was a one or two martini lunch and what wine you ordered. With cacciatore and clams in white wine I would guess you each ordered by the glass.

    As for Twitter being a 21st century Alqonquin Round Table, I would say it has a ways to go. Witty sometimes, but many conversations are more like a forwarded e-mail most of the time, hard to get the gist of and usually not worth the effort.

  4. I couldn’t get the point of Twitter for the longest time, but now that I’m more used to the brief wording that’s required to use it I find it quite helpful. Plus I get a good portion of my blog visits from Twitter so it’s a winner for me!

    1. Brian, I felt the same way in my early stages on Twitter, using it primarily to promote links to blog posts; now, however, that has become the least important part of it. the relationships, conversations, news, links, etc., plus the manner in which to convey ideas in 140 or less are addicting, i find.

  5. Malcer,

    Well, so, a more serious comment now. Another thing about Twitter is its sheer malleabilty. If you don’t want to sit at the Algonquin Round Table, there are plenty of other rooms out there—it all depends on you and your interests. I personally don’t spent a lot of time wise-cracking on Twitter. In fact, most of my time is spent on disseminating information on human rights abuses in Eurasia and Russia and trying to help get journalists and political dissendents released from jail.

    In eighteenth-century France there were famous salons where wits like Voltaire sparkled. Much of the talk may have been virtuosically empty chatter, but idea-jousting led to the French Revolution. Twitter’s simple platform makes it easier to access in countries with slow Internet connections. In the past few days I’ve interacted with people from Texas, California, Russia, Azerbaijan, Armenia, Kyrgyzstan, Canada, Turkey, England, Germany, etc. Twitter helps shrink the world and link those who care about the things you care about. Its interactivity builds communities and creates bonds among people who would never otherwise have met and who would not have dreamed they had so much in common.

    And, back to horse racing, wouldn’t it be great to know if the 4 horse was throwing a fit in the Meydan paddock in Dubai, even if you’re sitting in your living room in Dresden, Germany without a visual feed? Get enough people on Twitter and you’ll find out!🙂

  6. Ani,

    a thoughtful and valid response (and like most of these, exceeding 140 characters). To be frank I didn’t check who you are or what you use Twitter for. I simply found it funny that your comparison struck me as much less flattering than it was obviously supposed to be. And yes, I’m aware that I was wisecracking about wisecracking.

    As for racing, I much prefer having a livestream that gives me this sort of info (if I don’t have one it’s likely too late anyway) but I see your point, and have previously stated that I think Twitter is a good medium for passing along short tidbits of info or functioning as a 2010s MsgGrp.

    I just believe that almost all of the discussions I’ve seen there would be better suited for forums or comment sections and have also found that Twitter (even more so than most other “new” media) attracts misrepresentation, badmouthing and oversimplification (not to mention chatter but then you can avoid that). My main gripe is that it’s hard to write a response to a tweet unless your point has already been summed up somewhere else and you can just link to it.

    In 140: Just a joke. Twitter ain’t for me but unlike Facebook (the anti-privacy network) I don’t actually dislike it.

    See, the 140 version sucks.

    1. Malcer,

      Twitter and blogs are different tools. I need the saw and you need the chisel. A master craftsman knows how both work and when to use each.

      139 characters–not too shabby🙂

      But usually there is a hyperlink involved…

  7. For journalists you should be ashamed of yourselves for using the word, Thunk – please check the meaning of this word, the word Paul Haigh was I presume was trying to use was thought – something he should have done before “tweeting” (oh lord shoot me!)

    Just because Americans want to destroy the English language doesn’t mean the British must follow suit, I axe you whatever next…………..

  8. It’s interesting that Joe Morris wouldn’t be aware of his publications presence on Twitter. He should realize that more people hear about TT on Twitter then on any other platform he advertises on. Mr Morris would also be well served if his representatives made well reasoned pro horse racing staments on Twitter.

  9. Danzig:

    Joe is aware. I did write, to quote, “Joe, however, has seen firsthand how useful Twitter is in journalism, and he related a story–mimicking someone texting with two thumbs—of how Ed’s tweeting from the scene during Derby week was used by another writer at TT to flesh out an article.”

    Joe, however, does not have a Twitter account himself.

    I don’t want to speak for Joe, but he runs a journalistic enterprise, not an ad agency; therefore, his people aren’t necessarily going to rubber stamp everything as “good” in racing.

Leave a Reply

